C&L Award

Twice a year, District 60 presents the Communication and Leadership Award to a person in the community who is an outstanding communicator and leader. See History / Recipient List

2018 Spring C&L award winner: Dr. Ann Cavoukian

 Dr. Ann Cavoukian, a world leading privacy expert, is currently the Distinguished Expert-in-Residence, leading the Privacy by Design Centre of Excellence at Ryerson University. Appointed as the Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario, Canada in 1997, Dr. Cavoukian served an unprecedented three terms as Commissioner. During that time, she elevated the Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner from a novice regulatory body to a first-class agency, known around the world for its cutting edge innovation and leadership. There she created Privacy by Design, a framework that seeks to proactively embed privacy into the design specifications of information technologies, networked infrastructure and business practices, thereby achieving the strongest protection possible.
Learn more about Dr. Cavoukian here

Purpose of the Award

The purpose of the award is to honour a non-Toastmaster who has made substantial contributions in the areas of communications and leadership within their community.

Criteria for the Award Recipient

Following are the criteria used for award recipient selection:

  • Must be a resident of the geographical area covered by District 60, from the Toronto area to east of Belleville.
  • Currently must be a non-Toastmaster, can be a former Toastmaster.
  • Should have distinguished himself/herself as a leader or spokesperson for a worthy cause or 
purpose, especially as it exemplified their communication and leadership skills.
  • Shall have made a significant contribution to their community within the District. The impact 
of this contribution must not be limited to one organization, but must be community/district-wide.
  • This award may not be presented to a recipient a second time.
  • Must be able to personally accept the award and give an acceptance address at the District 60 Conference.

Award Recipient Selection Process

  • Any District 60 Toastmaster in good standing may submit a nomination for the award.
  • Nominations must be made in writing following the questions on the Nomination Form, providing reasons why the nominee should be considered for the award.
  • Nominations must be submitted to the District Public Relations Manager by the published 
nominations due date. The Public Relations Manager will send all submissions to the members of the Communication and Leadership Nomination Committee after the nomination due date.
  • The Communication and Leadership Nomination Committee will only consider nominations submitted by the due date.
  • The Communication and Leadership Nomination Committee will decide which nominee, if any, is worthy of the award. The decision will be made by a majority vote. This vote may be performed via email.
  • If a majority of the Communication and Leadership Nomination Committee feels that no nominations merit the award, then no award will be made for that year.
  • If an award is to be given, the District 60 Director will contact the recipient to inform him/her, they have been selected to receive the award, advise the recipient that he/she must make an acceptance address at the District Spring Conference or the District Fall Showcase as a condition of receiving the award. If the chosen recipient:
  • Cannot make an acceptance address
  • Cannot personally accept the award
  • Chooses not to accept the award

Then the District 60 Director will advise the Public Relations Manager. The Communication and Leadership Nomination Committee may choose to select another recipient for the award that year. If another recipient is chosen, then the District 60 Director will contact that individual in accordance with #7 above.

  • On the award announcement date, the District 60 Director will announce the award recipient or announce that there will not be an award presented that year.
  • Any Toastmaster may nominate a recipient. If you wish to nominate more than one person, please submit separate entries for each individual. The Nomination Form, along with any supplemental information should be sent to the Public Relations Manager using the format provided on the Nomination Form.


Selection of the recipient for the award is made by Communication and Leadership Nomination Committee and confirmed by the District Director. Selection is contingent upon the recipient’s confirmed attendance for the award presentation.


The Communication and Leadership award will be presented at the District 60 Fall Showcase or the Spring Conferences.

The award is given in the form of a plaque, purchased by District 60 from Toastmasters International, and engraved with the winner’s name, year of the award, name of the award, and other pertinent information.

For more information, contact:
Emilio Morales, DTM
Public Relations Manager 2017-2018

2018 spring C&L award winner:
Ann Cavoukian:

Past Recipients:


Darrell Gregersen

2018 Spring: Dr. Ann Cavoukian
2017 Fall: Darrell Gregersen, President & CEO CAMH Foundation
2017 Spring: Mark Wafer, Tim Hortons franchise owner, and advocate for individuals with disabilities – article
2016 Fall: Betsy McGregor
2016 Spring: Mark Rodgers, CEO Habitat for Humanity Canada
2015 Fall: Jim Clemmer
2015 Spring: Carla Kisko
2014 Fall: Ophira Ginsburg
2014 Spring: Carolyn MacKenzie
2013 Fall 2: Dave Perry & Rocco Rossi
2013 Spring Yvette Nechvatal-Drew
2012 Fall David Bronskill
2012 Spring Gery Rockstein
2011 Fall Nancy Graham
2011 Spring Rona Maynard
2010 Fall Christine Magee
2010 Spring Christine Bentley
2009 Fall Joe Millage
2009 Spring Dr. Rick Tobias
2008 Fall Audrey M. Loeb
2008 Spring Mary Thornton
2007 Fall Hon. James K. Bartleman
2006 Fall Brenda Herchmer
2006 Spring Dr. Gordon L. Flett
2005 Fall Ed Holder
2005 Spring Karen Lieberman
2004 Fall Richard Rohmer, Major-General (ret.)
2004 Spring Rukhsana Khan
2003 Fall Lewis McKenzie, Major-General (ret.)
Region VI Warren Evans
2003 Spring Laurie Williamson
2002 Fall Christine Dernederlanden
2002 Spring Ken Shaw
2001 Fall Helen Connell
2001 Spring Robin Sharma
2000 Fall Bill Carroll
2000 Spring Sue Johanson
1999 Fall Todd Brooker
1999 Spring Erin Davis
1998 Fall Christopher J. Randall
1998 Spring Michael “Pinball” Clemens
1997 Joan Homer
1996 Fall Judy Gibson
1996 Spring Frank C. Buckley
1995 Peter Urs Bender
1994 Roberta Bondar
1993 Ronald McDonald House Daily Bread Foodbank
1991 Her Worship the Mayor Hazel McCallion
1990 Telephone Pioneers of America, Northern Telecom Canada
1989 The Honourable Lincoln M. Alexander
1988 Bill Simpkins
1987 Bob Proctor
1985 W. Bill Moody
1984 George B. Weber
1983 D. K. (Don) McIvor
1980 Don Herron
1979 Paul Victor Godfrey
1977 Laura Sabia
1976 Lynne Gordon
1975 Clarence F. Meyers
1974 J. Arthur Robertson