

am@toastmasters60.com

Minutes of the Meeting of

Minutes of the Meeting of District 60 Toastmasters District Council Business Meeting Saturday, April 17th, 2021, 2pm. Virtual via Zoom

1. Call to Order

Wendy Williamson, DTM, District Director called the meeting to order at 2:00 pm. She introduced the District theme: 'We build new clubs and support all clubs in achieving excellence.'

Wendy introduced the officials: Tim Sulisz District Parliamentarian, Joe Ciccone Timer, Rita Burke Chat Monitor, Sunil Kumar as PowerPoint manager and Bruce Richardson Zoom Host.

2. Credentials Committee

Rob Peck, DTM, Credentials Chair, presented a summary of meeting credentials:

Number of Eligible Club Presidents – 118

Number of Eligible Vice-Presidents Education – 112

Total Club Votes – 230

Quorum (1/3 of Club Votes) – 77

of Club Votes issues – **Quorum Achieved!** – 134

of DEC Votes Issued – 32

Total votes issues – 166

Simple majority (50% +1) - 84

3. Agenda

Wendy Williamson noted that the agenda had been available on the D60 website and a link to the website had been emailed to the district council prior to the meeting. A request was made to adopt the agenda as presented. The agenda was adopted by unanimous consent.

4. Ratification of Area Directors

Wendy Williamson requested ratification of recently appointed Area Directors – Andrew Horberry, Area A2, Dinesh Sharma, Area C27, Darren Verasammy, Area I81. The appointments received unanimous approval.

5. Election procedure

Wendy Williamson went over the Electronic voting procedure. The software being used for voting is Election Runner. All ballots to be emailed using the email address that member registered or identified as the "preferred" email address. Members will have 5 minutes to complete their ballot. A test ballot was emailed to all district council members present before the start of the formal voting.

6. Alignment Report

Alison Knibb, DTM, Alignment Chair. Alison Knibb presented the District 60 Alignment report. She discussed the protocols that need to be followed during the alignment process and why annual alignments are necessary. The new structure of D60 will be made up of 6 Divisions – A to F and 27 Areas. Area numbering system is changing. Maps were displayed to provide a visual of the clubs location in each division. This new structure will be official on July 1 2021. The floor was open to questions. There were no questions.

7. D60 Elections

Dawn Frail presented the District Leadership Committee (DLC) report. The District Leadership Committee's role is to follow the procedural rules established by Toastmasters International to make every effort to find and nominate candidates, for District offices, that are qualified and able. This year, the committee's nominated candidates are:

Nominated Candidates for 2020-2021	
Role	Candidate(s)
District Director	Aneetha Pathak, DTM
Program Quality Director	David Veights, DTM, Andrew Mertens, DTM
Club Growth Director	Angela Ho DTM, Elton Brown, DTM, Dave Bachan, DTM,

Role	Candidate(s)
Division A Director	Marinka Ranasinghe, EC5
Division B Director	Lisa Bowen, CC, CL
Division C Director	Louise Bark, LD3
Division D Director	Andrew Horberry CC, ALB, DL5
Division E Director	Janice Law, DTM, George Lyberogiannis, EC1, CL

8. District Director Election

There was one uncontested candidate for the office of District Director – Aneeta Pathak. The secretary was instructed to cast one vote for Aneeta Pathak.

9. Program Quality Director

There were two nominated candidates for Program Quality Director Andrew Mertens and David Veights. The results of the first ballot was – Andrew Mertens 65% (69 votes) and David Veights 35% (37 votes. The elected Program Quality Director was Andrew Mertens.

10. Club Growth Director

There were three nominated candidates for Club Growth Director David Bachan, Elton Brown and Angela Ho. The results of the round 1 ballot was Angela Ho 40% (41 votes), David Bachan 36% (37 votes) and Elton Brown 24% (25 votes). In round 2 Elton Brown's name was removed and the results of the second ballot was Angela Ho 59% (60 votes) and Dave Bachan 41% (41 votes). The elected Club Growth Director is Angela Ho.

11. Division A Director

There was one uncontested candidate for the office of Division A Director – Marinka Ranasinghe. The secretary was instructed to cast a single vote for Marinka Ranasinghe.

12. Division B Director

There was one uncontested candidate for the office of Division B Director – Lisa Bowen. Unfortunately Lisa had to withdraw her nomination at the last moment leaving this office without a candidate. This office will be assigned by the incoming District Director.

13. Division C Director

There was one uncontested candidate for the office of Division C Director – Louise Bark. The secretary was instructed to cast a single vote for Louise Bark.

14. Division D Director

There was one uncontested candidate for the office of Division D Director – Andrew Horberry. The secretary was instructed to cast a single vote for Andrew Horberry.

15. Division E Director

There were two nominated candidates Division E Director – Janice Law and George Lyberogiannis. The results of the first ballot was – George Lyberogiannis 76% (73 votes) and Janice Law 24% (23 votes). The elected Division E Director is George Lyberogiannis.

16. Division F Director

There were two nominated candidates Division F Director – Anton Coetzee and Antoinette Holder. The results of the first ballot was – Antoinette Holder 57% (55 votes) and Anton Coetzee 43% (42 votes . The elected Division F Director is Antoinette Holder.

17. Leadership Opportunities

Wendy Williamson encouraged members to take on other appointed leadership roles that included the Public Relations Manager, Administration Manager, Finance Manager, Logistics Manager and Area Directors.

District Director, Wendy Williamson, DTM, then adjourned the 2021 Annual Elections Business meeting.